Mon-Sun: 07:00 - 6:00

Daily Taxicab Service (24 hours) Kindly Book in Advance


Entebbe International Airport - Kampala

Apply for Uganda Visa

Uganda Visa

A Visa is a must-have document for any foreigner intending to enter into another country. For those travelling to Uganda, get to know that this document is one of the requirements needed in case you seek permission for entry.

Travelers to Uganda used to apply for this document by two options. There was an option of booking it in advance using a consulate in your home country or get it on arrival. After the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, everything changed.

The new normal emphasizes social distancing, hand sanitizing and wearing of face masks. This is meant to prevent the widespread of this virus.

As you know congestion is no longer needed, therefore getting the Visa on arrival is currently put on hold until the COVID-19 vaccine is declared and distributed worldwide.

For now, all visitors to Uganda are advised to apply for the Visa online using the ministry of internal affairs electronic system. Uganda has six categories of entry Visas.

These include Visa for diplomatic and official passport holders, a single entry which costs 50 USD per person, multiple-entry (6-12 months and costs 100 USD), and multiple-entry (24 months at 200 USD).

The other Visa is for students who are not nationals of the East African community. This student Visa goes for 100 USD.

The last one is the East African Visa. This one allows you to enter into three countries (Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya) at once. It is valid for three months and costs $100.

The Visa only issues entry permission to the country. For foreign nationals who wish to work in Uganda, you will have to comply with Uganda’s requirements for expatriate employment.

Nationals from countries that are in the East African community and Comesa, don’t require a Visa for entry to Uganda.

Countries in Comesa are Angola, Eritrea, Malawi, Madagascar, Seychelles, Swaziland, Zambia, Comoros, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Mauritius and Botswana. The East African destinations include Rwanda, Tanzania, Burundi and Kenya.

Other countries that don’t need a Visa for entry to Uganda are Belize, Gambia, Jamaica, Malta, Singapore, St. Vincent-Tonga, Antigua, Barbados, Fiji, Grenada, Lesotho, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, The Grenadines, Vanuatu, Ghana, Cyprus, Bahamas, Ireland and Libya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Covid-19 Guidelines Entebbe Airport